101 in 1001

25 Jan

So I’m kind of behind on the whole “make a New Years resolution” bandwagon.  Like, 22 years behind.

I like the idea of starting a new year fresh and resolving to do different things, but I’ve never been one to decide that January 1st is the day I’m going to commit to working harder at all things in my life.

I guess when I see the need for change, I try to do my best to make that change right away (instead of waiting for a new year).  I’ve also never been one to write down goals (even though I have a lot!).

One of our first tasks during fitmixer boot camp was to write down our goals.  At first, this challenge freaked me out.  But once I wrote them down, it felt really good.  To keep that good feeling going, I decided to create a 101 in 1001 list (inspired by my friend, Olivia).

Basically, you write down 101 things you want to achieve in 1001 days (~2.75 years).  Here’s my list!:

  1. Write a list of 101 things to do in 1001 days (January 2013)
  2. Keep track of 101 things
  3. Join an academic group at UB (law journal, moot court, etc.)
  4. Work a full-time legal job during the summers of 2013 and 2014
  5. Graduate from UB
  6. Do my best to graduate in the top 25% of my class
  7. Take the NYS Bar Exam
  8. Go to California
  9. Plan a post-grad trip abroad (Italy?!)
  10. Get a post-grad job
  11. Run a 5k
  12. Run a 10k
  13. Run a half marathon
  14. Visit UR for Mel weekend
  15. Plan another reunion with my friends from college
  16. Clean out my closet and donate clothes
  17. Send someone a card just because
  18. Go indoor rock climbing
  19. Try Crossfit
  20. Go on a brewery tour
  21. Learn how to make sauce
  22. Bake a birthday cake for someone all by myself
  23. Do fitmixer boot camp again
  24. Go to Washington, D.C. and see the monuments
  25. Make my own peanut butter
  26. Learn how to make healthy muffins
  27. Make sangria
  28. Go on another wine tour
  29. Visit two new states
  30. Make a craft from Pinterest
  31. Invest in a good sports bra
  32. Go to a Delta Gamma alumni event
  33. Continue to blog
  34. Go apple picking
  35. Kayak on the canal
  36. Go to an MS walk
  37. See a GI doctor to finally determine why I have so many stomach issues
  38. Send my mom flowers
  39. Buy a business suit
  40. Go to a wedding
  41. Make homemade hummus
  42. Try a new-to-me fitness class
  43. Buy a colored blazer
  44. Go to a running store to determine which sneakers I should wear
  45. Make breakfast pizza
  46. Go back to Good Luck
  47. Try a new-to-me restaurant in Rochester
  48. Visit my past employers at LuGia’s
  49. Spend a day with my little cousins
  50. Frame “then and now” side-by-side photos with my grandparents
  51. Make my own sweet potato fries
  52. Go to a Carrie Underwood concert
  53. Get a facial
  54. Get a gel manicure
  55. Do something special to celebrate my 25th birthday
  56. Go to a baseball game at Yankees Stadium
  57. Go to a professional hockey game
  58. Make healthy guacamole
  59. Paint something (a picture, wine glass, craft, etc.)
  60. Try pumpkin seeds
  61. Go to the Rochester public market again
  62. Frame my diploma
  63. Go to the George Eastman House
  64. Go to the Rochester Museum & Science Center
  65. Go to the Memorial Art Gallery
  66. Visit a museum in Buffalo
  67. Go to a Buffalo Bills game
  68. Drink hard cider
  69. Try green juice
  70. Buy some cookbooks
  71. Visit my family in PA
  72. Go to Canada
  73. Take a cooking class
  74. Make an ice cream cake
  75. Make homemade salad dressing
  76. Host a dinner party or holiday/themed party
  77. Bake cookies for a friend
  78. Send 10 handwritten notes
  79. Take a self-defense class
  80. Make 10 recipes off Pinterest
  81. Find out my blood type
  82. Go to Delta Gamma Founder’s Day brunch
  83. Get a monogrammed necklace
  84. Take my aunts out to lunch
  85. Go golfing with my grandpa
  86. Perfect the art of making a healthy smoothie
  87. Try Bethenny Frankel’s yoga DVD
  88. Find a bra that actually fits right
  89. Buy a jacket that isn’t black
  90. Do something special to celebrate my and Dan’s anniversary
  91. Visit Erin, Emmi, and Renee in NYC
  92. Make dinner for my parents
  93. Put a 13.1 sticker on my car after completing my first half marathon
  94. See all of The Godfather movies
  95. Read Pride and Prejudice
  96. Write thank you notes after my birthday each year
  97. Learn how to manage money
  98. Buy something off Etsy
  99. Pay for someone who is behind me in line (coffee, lunch, etc.)
  100. Go on a hike
  101. Complete my 101 goals!
  • Do you make New Years resolutions?
  • Do you write down your goals?
Leave a Reply

