The Challenges of Grad School

9 Jan

It’s true what they say: graduate school is nothing like college.

I was absolutely terrified as the last days of August approached and I prepared to move to a new city to start law school.  I’m not sure what scared me so much.  I’ve always enjoyed being a student and I knew law school was the right choice for me.  I think the unknown was the scariest part.  What would classes be like?  What would my professors be like?  Would I get thrown out of class on day 1 like Elle Woods in Legally Blonde?

Image(source)

Now that I’ve survived an entire semester of law school, I don’t think it’s scary.

I think it’s challenging:

1) You have hundreds of pages of reading to do in one week.  And you actually HAVE to do the reading before class.  If you blow off the reading, it will definitely come back to bite you.  I read so much this semester that my eyesight got worse and I had to get reading glasses.

Image

2) You miss your friends from college.  A lot.  I was extremely lucky to have a wonderful group of close friends in college.  I’ve met great people in law school, but it has been really hard to get used to life without my friends living right next door.

Image

3) You wake up at 5am and you’re ready for bed by 8pm.  Everyone adopts different schedules, of course, but my weekly wake up time during school is about 5-5:30am.  I work out, make breakfast, get ready for the day, drive to school, get to the library by 7:30 or so, then go to my classes.  Naturally, I’m exhausted by the end of the day.  Gone are the days of staying up until 2am and sleeping until noon (sigh).

Life post-college is challenging.  Whether you have a new job, are looking for work, or are continuing with your education, your lifestyle changes entirely.

When I get stressed about schoolwork or homesick for my family I try to remember one thing: to be grateful.  I survived college and now I have an amazing opportunity to further my education.  Even on the worst days, I am so very thankful for that.

158681586842577520_4LAhVzay

  • Have you transitioned into the “real world” yet?  What was hard for you?
  • How do you deal with stress?

P.S. I get to see my friends from college this weekend!  I can’t wait.

3 Responses to “The Challenges of Grad School”

  1. realworldworkouts January 9, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

    so glad you’re back! See you in 3 days ahh!!!

  2. micelid January 16, 2013 at 9:14 am #

    I totally appreciate this, Annie! I’m not in grad school yet, but I agree that the transition from undergrad to the next phase is tough. Very well said!

Leave a Reply

