Resisting Change

26 Jul

Last night as I was laying in bed trying to fall asleep, it suddenly hit me like a ton of bricks:  I’ll be starting law school orientation in less than one month.  I’ve honestly been freaking out about that long before now, but when I started to think about it last night it became incredibly real.

Part of me is excited for this new phase of my life, while part of me is strongly resisting the change and wants things to stay the way they are.  Why do we seem to do this?  New things are usually exciting and rewarding, but as creatures of habit we are often content to continue on the path we are familiar with.

(source)

If we want to continue to grow and leave our mark on the world, we need to accept new challenges and dive headfirst into life’s new endeavors.  Since this can be difficult, these are the things I try to remember:

  • Everything happens for a reason.  It’s a corny saying, but I truly believe in it.  No matter what gets thrown at you along the way, it all turns out how it’s supposed to.
  • I’ve gotten through other changes in the past.  This isn’t the first change in my life and it won’t be the last.  It’s important to remember what you learned from past experiences and keep that knowledge in mind moving forward.  Reflecting on the past can motivate you to work toward the future.
  • I can always turn to family and friends.  When I feel scared and overwhelmed, it can be easy to forget how much support I have behind me.  Opening up to the people I care about always pushes me forward.  A reassuring talk or a lunch date to take my mind off things can usually do the trick.

(source)

Change is a part of life and most often, it makes us stronger.  If everything stayed the same, life would be so boring and we would never grow as individuals.

So go out there and make the best of a new part of your life, seek your dream job, explore your options and get after whatever it is that inspires you.  Even if it scares you, you might get something you’ve always wanted.

(source)

Leave a Reply

