Hello from London!

23 Jul

I’m here, safe and sound!  I can’t believe my second full day in London is already almost over.

The Friends episodes in London are some of my favorites. Anyone else agree?

(source)

Let’s back up with a recap!

Saturday – travel day:

After getting checked in and settled at the airport, I spent the time walking around and talking on the phone.  The Rochester airport is really small, so it was pretty boring trying to pass the time.  Finally, it was time to board the plane to Chicago!

The first flight was smooth and the time passed quickly.  I read for most of the flight (I’m currently reading Divergent by Veronica Roth).

When I got to the Chicago airport, the first mission was to find food.  I found a small place called B. Smooth that served smoothies and salads.

I created this salad beast with grilled chicken, avocado, red peppers, cucumbers, chickpeas, feta and roasted sunflower seeds topped with balsamic vinaigrette dressing.  It was a great option among a sea of some questionable airport fast food.

I boarded the next plane hoping the 8 hour flight would pass as quickly as possible.  This trip was a birthday gift from my parents and I was very fortunate that they got me a business class ticket.  The extra amenities made the long trip very comfortable and enjoyable.  They served food that looked like this:

The meal started with a glass of water and warm nuts (TWSS), followed by a salad and fresh bread.  I opted for the tilapia entree served with saffron rice and artichokes.  For dessert, I chose the fruit and cheese plate.  I honestly didn’t eat much of anything because I was full from the salad I had in the Chicago airport.  I thought they offered a great spread though!

After the meal, I did everything possible to fall asleep.  I wanted to be raring to go when I landed in London!

Sunday – Day 1:

After many hours of traveling and a five hour time change, I finally made it to London!  Katie met me at the airport and we headed back to her aunt’s house.  We had tea and toast, then got cleaned up and headed out.  Our first adventure in London was a double decker bus tour!

(source)

It was the best way to see all of the major sights without exerting a ton of effort.  I was feeling pretty good post-travels, but I knew I would crash hard later.  It was a great tour!

My favorite photo of the day:

Tower Bridge with the Olympic Rings.

Awesome.

Next up, Buckingham Palace!

When we returned back to Katie’s aunt’s house, we eventually ate a dinner of chicken, broccoli, squash and potatoes.  Everything was roasted and covered with gravy and it was DELICIOUS.  It’s nice to be on vacation and still get home cooked meals!  I crashed soon after dinner and was in bed by 10 p.m..

It was a perfect start to the trip 🙂

Day 2 recap coming soon!

Leave a Reply

