My first StitchFix

3 Feb

Hi, friends!

I hope everyone had a relaxing weekend!  I’m currently posted up in front of the TV watching the Super Bowl (commercials).  My full class schedule starts tomorrow (yikes), so I’m trying to relax while I can.

—–

I first heard about StitchFix over at Gina’s blog.  As a busy student with minimal time to go shopping, I was immediately intrigued.

IMG_2615You get started on the website by creating an extensive style profile.  You fill out your height, weight, and clothing sizes, along with how you like clothes to fit you, style preferences, etc.  You are also shown images of various outfits (kind of like these on Pinterest) and asked whether you like them.  It’s really in depth and cool to fill out.

You schedule your “Fix” for whenever you’d like to it arrive.  It can contain a mix of shirts, pants, accessories, dresses, outerwear  – anything you ask for.  You pay a $20 styling fee, which is applied toward items you decide to keep.  Once it arrives, you have three days to decide what you’d like to purchase.  The Fix comes with a pre-paid mailing bag to put returns in, so you can easily throw it in your mailbox to send back.

Here’s what my first one looked like:

IMG_2614Polka dot skinny jeans, grey poncho sweater, sheer black studded top, red and white striped long sleeve shirt, and a red infinity scarf

The verdict?:

I didn’t keep any of it.

The jeans and the grey sweater weren’t really my style.

I was this close to keeping the black shirt, but ultimately decided against it.  It was just a little too see-through for me.

The red striped shirt and infinity scarf are very similar to other clothes that I own, so I decided it wasn’t worth the money to keep them.

IMG_2616

BUT, I still signed up to receive another Fix.  I really like that their online checkout included options to give extensive feedback on each item – I’m confident that they will understand why I decided to send everything back.  I also updated my style profile a bit to better reflect my preferences.  From what I’ve read, the Fixes get better each time as the stylist gets to “know” you.

For $20, it’s worth another shot!  I don’t think it’s something I’ll sign up for every month, but it’s definitely going to be a great option when I want some new clothes but don’t have time to go to the mall.

If you want to give it a try, here is a link with the invitation!

  • Have you tried StitchFix before?
  • Do you like online shopping?
2 Responses to “My first StitchFix”

  1. Running In Heels February 3, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    I signed up for it after reading Gina’s blog too! Still waiting to get mine though :( hopefully you’ll like your next one more!!

    • Legally Balanced February 3, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

      I hope so too! I really love the idea of it so I’m not giving up yet. P.S. I tried your PB Banana Chia Smoothie the other day – it was great!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

