Kettle & Pedal

29 Jan

Two weeks ago, I tried spinning for the first time.

The setup was totally awesome – all of the bikes were in a dark room, with colored lights on the walls.  It was like spinning in a nightclub (seriously).  The instructor had a bumpin’ playlist, and there was a huge flatscreen TV that was playing music videos.

tumblr_md9ph47DHt1qej93ko1_250Watching Beyonce will make anyone work out a little harder.  My spinning got ten times faster when I saw her on that screen.

About 35 minutes of the class consisted of spinning.  The instructor led us through a series of hills and jumps at various resistance levels.  She was awesome – I love a motivating instructor who isn’t too in your face.

After the spinning portion of the class was complete, we went into another room to complete a group circuit workout.  There were four stations, so we split up with about 3-4 people to a station.  The instructor changed the exercises each time we went through the circuit (burpees, pushup variations, frog jumps, weighted exercises, plyo lunges, the list goes on…), but one exercise stayed the same:

tumblr_mgjqncLnRe1r0derio1_250

ROWING.  The dude above makes this look super sweet and effortless.  I worked muscles I didn’t even know I had and my heart was pounding out of my chest by the end.  The circuit did not advance until all of the rowers completed 200m (i.e. those doing burpees did as many as they could until the rowers were done, then advanced to the next exercise).  The class ended with Kettlebell arm exercises back on the bike (bicep curls, triceps extensions, front shoulder raises, etc.).

bodycraft-kettlebell-10lb-yellowIt. was. awesome.

At first, however, I wasn’t sure if I liked the class that much.  During the spinning portion, my legs tired out very quickly and my butt was uncomfortable on the seat.  When she explained the circuit to us, I was initially intimidated.

But once I let all of that go – I was hooked!  It was such a fun class, and I had forgotten how awesome and motivating it is to work out in a group.  I hadn’t taken a fitness class in a looong time, so this was a great way to switch it up.  I’ve taken two classes since and I’m already signed up to go again tomorrow.

tumblr_lyedn2jnjX1r7wmelo1_400

  • What was the last new fitness class you tried?
  • How do you overcome discomfort or intimidation in new situations?
2 Responses to “Kettle & Pedal”

  1. Running In Heels January 29, 2013 at 8:28 pm #

    I love spinning!! It’s such a challenge but I love how it mixes things up!

    • Legally Balanced January 29, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

      I agree! I can understand how people get addicted to it!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

