Food Rut

10 Jul

Hey hey, how is everyone’s day going?

Before we get into today’s happenings, let’s back up to last night.

After my evening run, I showered quick and was still feeling (somewhat) ambitious around 8:00 p.m..  That ambition led me straight to the kitchen to try my hand at baking some more bread!   I loved my cinnamon walnut bread from last week, but I wanted to try something new.

Whole wheat zucchini banana walnut bread!  I used Courtney’s recipe, but switched up a few things.  The ingredients ended up looking like this:

  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 3/4 cup (6 oz.) plain Chobani yogurt
  • 3/4 cup Splenda
  • 1 egg
  • 1-1/2 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1-1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 cup walnuts

I mixed and prepared the ingredients according to Courtney’s recipe and ended up baking the loaf for about 45 minutes.  It’s delicious!  I’ve eaten a ton of zucchini this summer and was happy to be able to incorporate it into a baked good.

This morning started off with another protein pancake with 1/2 a sliced banana, some almond butter, honey and sugar-free syrup on top.  I definitely could have split up the batter, but instead I rolled with a single, thick pancake.  It was dense and super filling.

On the side, I had a cup of fruit salad.  I eat an unbelievable amount of fruit in the summer.  I love it so much!

Next up, a run outside.  I went for a little over 2 miles.  I originally had every intention of doing an Insanity video when I got home, but after the run I just wasn’t feeling it.  The clock was also telling me I needed to get in the shower and get moving or I’d be late to work!  I finished up the workout with Gina’s bedtime ab burner (although it certainly wasn’t bedtime) and some stretching.  Nothing crazy, but at least I got moving!

Some photos snapped of our flowers out front on my way back in the house.

This afternoon, my dad took me on a lunch date to Aladdin’s :)

Aladdin’s is one of my favorite restaurants.  They have delicious Mediterranean food and offer many salads, pitas, pastas and other dishes.

I’ve definitely fallen into a “food rut” at Aladdin’s.  At restaurants I like, I’m really guilty of ordering the same thing almost every time I go there!  At Aladdin’s, it’s the Roman salad:

Mixed greens, apples, toasted pitas and goat cheese in a lemon-citronette dressing.  I always have them add grilled chicken on top.  The salad is HUGE and always ensures great leftovers.  Yum!

We were able to enjoy our food right by the water.  It was a beautiful 80 degree afternoon with a breeze.  Perfect for a lunch date with my dad!

A question:

  • Do you fall into a “food rut” at restaurants you like and order the same thing every time?  Do you like to stick with what you know, or do you prefer to try new items on the menu?
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

